Crafting for Life

The Birthday Swap

on June 9, 2014

Every year, there are groups on Ravelry that organize swaps. You can participate in swaps for dishcloths, mittens, shawls, and even for your birthday! Well, I went ahead and participated in one for my birthday this year. I wanted something special, and definitely different from what I did in years’ past. So I signed up for the Birthday Swap early this year.

When the time came around, i couldn’t be more thrilled. Now came the best part after all: shopping! 😀

I needed to shop for yarn, which was the easy part actually. The rest of the package had to be a minimum cost of $30. The aim was to make the swapee (is there such a word??) feel pampered and loved, even if from far. So I totally went to town with my shopping list. Chocolate, craft kits, and personal care item. It also included a hand-made item from me: my silk-wool shawl Intriguing.

However, I couldn’t manage to make get the package together before Lynne’s (my swap partner) Birthday. I had to send it out before the month was over, and that’s what I eventually did! However, Lynne was a darling and sent mine so that it got to me before my birthday.

Then came D-day: my birthday, and more importantly: package opening day! And boy, was I pampered! Here are the pics of what I received:

The entire package

The entire package. The bag was the handmade that Lynne sent

Lovely lovely yarn! <3

Lovely lovely yarn! ❤

Postcards from Yorkshire

Postcards from Yorkshire

Fat Quarter pieces to push me along in my sewing journey

Fat Quarter pieces to push me along in my sewing journey

Books! Lovely collection

Books! Lovely collection

 

What I sent included:

Manasa Gift 2014 001.JPG

 

Manasa Gift 2014 003.JPG

Manasa Gift 2014 004.JPG

Shawl modelled by Lynne

Shawl modelled by Lynne

I guess the pics taken by Lynne are definitely more detailed than mine! But then I wanted to showcase the sheer amount of stuff she sent across! This was a fun experience, and I will certainly look forward to nest year. 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

HodgePodge Crochet

.....because crochet is what you live for.

Craft Doodling

THE JOY OF H.A.N.D.M.A.D.E.S

Yarn Over

...and draw through loop

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Yes, I am Vegan

for compassion, love, life & health

Welcome to My Blog

My Hobby Pursuits...

twin hobbies

living with twin daughters

ãhãram

Vegetarian and Vegan Recipes from Across the World!

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Where is she now?

... now with 25% less wisdom

String-Or-Nothing

Tangled Fiber Thoughts

Ebooks Etcetera

AKB's Picks

Maxbabi's Weblog

Transcreated Poetry weblog

come2america

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Will Work For Yarn

Summit Yarn Studio's Blog - Yarn for Fiber Fanatics

Simply Swank

Living a creative life.

berrocodesign.wordpress.com/

a blog hosted by Amy Christoffers and Amy Palmer

